Match Reports‎ > ‎

Kildysart Take Spoils in Estuary Derby

posted 15 Mar 2014, 11:42 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 15 Mar 2014, 11:48 ]
15/03/2014:  It was a repeat of last year's St Patrick's weekend Garry Cup opener with Kildysart in local derby with the Gaels and again Kildysart came up on top.  Kildysart looked on form through out the match and kept the Gaels scoreless for 42 minutes after the Gaels popped over 2 points in the opening 2 minutes.  Damian Hill was first on the board for the Blues, with captain Brian O'Sullivan equalising from a difficult angle.  David McMahon was outstanding in the backs with Neillie O'Connor dominating midfield and keeping the ball forward. John Murtagh's score, a free from Kieran Eyres and 1 from the boot of Kieran Leahy gave the home team the lead at half time 5 points to 2.  

Noel O'Grady made a return to the jersey and replaced an injured John Murtagh after the break. John Ginnane's work rate was relentless and he was influential in making plays up and down the field. By the end of 3rd quarter, Kildysart extended their lead to 9 points to 2 with points from Kieran Eyres (2), Damian Hill and Keith Murphy.  But the Gaels were building and after a 42 minute famine got the lifeline they needed when the ball struck the back of the net.  Brian O'Sullivan responded with a point to dampen the momentum but the Gaels pointed again. Damian Hill got Kildysart's last point to give them a 5 point lead with 10 minutes remaining. The Gaels kept at it and narrowed the gap with 2 more scores but Kildysart held on to win 11 points to 1-5. 

Kildysart: Liam Griffin, David McMahon, Shane McNelis, Michael Eustace, John Ginnane, Brian Eyres, Tony McMahon, Keith O'Connor, Neillie O'Connor, Damian Hill (0-3), Brian O'Sullivan-captain (0-2), Kieran Leahy (0-1), Kieran Eyres (0-3, 2f), Keith Murphy (0-1), John Murtagh (0-1).  Subs Noël O'Grady for J. Murtagh-inj 30 min, Christy Clancy for B. O'Sullivan 51 min, Terry Murphy for K. Murphy 57 min.

Shannon Gaels: David Foley, Cathal O'Neill, Fergal Kenny, Fergal O'Neill, John Bermingham, Francis Cleary, Michael Lorigan, Michael O'Donoghue, Padraig Neylon, John Keogh, Brian Bermingham, Diarmuid Lorigan, Caimin McMahon, Stephen O'Shea, Martin Tubridy.