Match Reports‎ > ‎

Kildysart NS Capture the Double

posted 15 Jun 2015, 07:20 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 17 May 2018, 00:47 ]
15/06/2015:  There are double celebrations in Kildysart National School as the boys’ and girls’ teams have captured the Clare Primary School Cup.  The boys were the first to secure the top honours when they overcame Kilkee last Monday week in Miltown 4-2 to 1-4 in Division 3.  The girls’ team secured their trophy with a win over The Holy Family National School 4-4 to 2 points today in Cusack Park.

It was Kildysart Girls' 4th successive appearance in the final and this year they were taking no prisoners.   The girls are trained by Monica Lillis and school liaison officer John Byrne.  It was a family affair for Monica as her sister Majella is over the Holy Family girls.  It took only 2 minutes for Amy Murphy to slot one between the posts to get Kildysart on the score board.  This was followed fairly quickly by a great goal from Caitlin Casey to give Kildysart the lead 1-1 to no score.  Holy Family countered with a point to narrow the gap somewhat.  However, Amy Murphy’s shot on target brought the score to Kildysart 2-1, Holy Family 1 point.  The sides swapped points with Sinead McCann getting the score for Kildysart.  The backs were under pressure from the Holy Family but Sinead Kelly and Clara O’Grady led the defensive efforts in keeping the ball cleared.  Zoe Nagle was excellent in goals and kept a clean sheet.  Caitlin Casey extended the lead when she raised the green flag again just before the break to give Kildysart a 3-2 to 2 points lead at half time.  The second half didn’t see much scoring but Sinead McCann added to Kildysart’s tally just after the restart.  Caitlin Casey got her hat trick when she fired her third goal to the net.  Captain Sarah Casey who worked tirelessly in midfield got the last point to finish off the scoring for Kildysart.  Final score Kildysart 4-4, Holy Family 0-2.

Team: Zoe Nagle, Sinead Kelly, Clara O’Grady, Emma Byrne, Laura Reidy, Sinead McCann (0-2), Sarah Casey-captain (0-1), Rachel O’Sullivan, Amy Murphy (1-1), Megan Cooney, Caitlin Casey (3-0). Subs: Aoife McMahon, Emily Leahy, Aoife Cleary, Grace Sheerer, Niamh Moloney, Anna Sheehan, Leah O’Donnell, Alaina Casey, Aisling O’Connor, Katie Casey, Abbey Hehir, Grace Scanlon, Aoife Ginnane, Eabha Garry, Aoibhinn Clancy, Emma Garry.

Front row: Caitlin Casey, Anna Sheehan, Aoife Ginnane, Abbey Hehir, Alaina Casey, Katie Casey, Grace Scanlon, Aoife Cleary, Leah O’Donnell, Aisling O’Connor, Eabha Garry, Grace Sheerer.

Back Row: John Byrne, Sinead Kelly, Emma Garry, Niamh Moloney, Clara O’Grady, Sarah Casey-captain, Megan Cooney, Zoe Nagle, Amy Murphy, Sinead McCann, Emma Byrne, Rachel O’Sullivan, Aoibhin Clancy, Aoife McMahon, Laura Reidy, Emily Leahy, Monica Lillis