Match Reports‎ > ‎

Kildysart Ladies Claim Junior B Shield Honours

posted 9 Sep 2018, 14:49 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 10 Sep 2018, 00:42 ]
08/09/2018:  Kildysart Ladies overturned a seven-point halftime deficit to win the Junior B Shield in their first-ever championship season. Both teams were confined to a single score in each half, however, Kildysart’s twelve point haul in the second half was enough to see them through as deserving winners, Kildysart 2-7, Doora Barefield (2) 2-5.

It took both teams a while to settle into the game with Kildysart’s Gillian Finucane getting the first score in the 11th minute. Kildysart had dominated possession and took their chances but were unable to get the scores they needed. Doora Barefield were more economical in their shooting and steamed ahead with four unanswered points from Emma Towey, Julie Clarke, Emer Hanrahan and Emer Casey to give them a 4 points to one lead by the 18th minute. Karen O’Brien then found the back of the net to extend the lead and Emer Towey’s second point made it Kildysart 0-1, Doora Barefield 1-5 with ten minutes remaining in the half. Kildysart then introduced the pacey Sarah Casey at wing back and it was a true game-changer as the Parish struggled to get ball passed her. The first half ended with Kildysart down by 7, 0-1 to Doora Barefield’s 1-5.

With the wind at their backs, Kildysart started the second half in a determined fashion. Captain Sinead Fox started off the revival with a point in the 37th minute, quickly followed by one from the boot of Catherine Pender. Finucane arrowed another through the posts and Kyla Foley’s long range effort narrowed the gap to a single score as the game entered its final quarter, Kildysart 0-5, Doora Barefield 1-5. Kildysart made key positional changes and aided by the depth of the bench, denied Doora Barefield any second-half score until the 60th minute. A point from Fox narrowed the gap to two and the goal by Amy Murphy in the 51st minute put Kildysart ahead for the first time since their opening score. Murphy followed up with a point to put the Blues ahead by two with 7 minutes remaining on the clock, Kildysart 1-7, Doora Barefield 1-5. Both sides were battling for elusive scores when, bang on the 60th minute, Doora Barefield registered their only score of the half as Suin McNamara’s goal stunned Kildysart. The Parish are now ahead by one heading into stoppage time. Kildysart remained focused and worked the ball up the field and won a free on the 30 metre line, just to the right of the goals. Fox knew it was the last kick of the game and decided it was all or nothing. Her effort to find the top corner was blocked down but the quick hands of Emma Finucane fisted the rebound into the back of the net to win the match for Kildysart. Final score: Kildysart 2-7, Doora Barefield (2) 2-5. As both teams had already qualified for the league semi-final, it was agreed that the result of this match would stand as the result for their upcoming round three league match. As such, Kildysart have topped the division 4, group B table and now await East Clare Gaels or Banner Ladies (2) in the league semi-final.

Kildysart: Audrey Kelly, Cheryl Ginnane, Katie Neenan, Ann O’Sullivan, Laoise Kelly, Sinead Kelly, Hazel O’Donoghue, Sinead Fox-captain (0-2), Amy Murphy (1-1), Kyla Foley (0-1), Gillian Finucane (0-2), Caiti Donnellan, Catherine Pender (0-1), Aisling Murphy, Roisin Donnellan. Subs: Sarah Casey for O’Donoghue (20 min), Chloe Sheehan for Neenan (22 min), Ashley O’Brien for C. Donnellan (25 min), Emma Byrne for L. Kelly (HT), Emma Finucane (1-0) for Aisling Murphy (45 min). Panel: Teresa Grace, Amy Connelly, Niamh O’Grady, Caroline Casey, Shona Garry.

Doora Barefield: Roisin Dillon, Ciara Lane, Ellen Meaney-captain, Sarah O'Brien, Anna Nagle, Lily Rafferty, Muireann Collins, Emer Hanrahan (0-1), Niamh Meaney, Julie Clarke (0-1), Emer Casey (0-1), Aoise Meaney, Aoife Gilfoyle, Jessica Leatham, Karen O'Brien (1-0). Subs: Siun McNamara (1-0), Emma Towey (0-2). Panel: Naoise Slattery, Aoibhinn O'Loughlin, Ava Lenihan, Leane Meaney, Anna Cosgrove, Orla Hoey, Sophie Roughan, Muireann Byrne, Alanna Meaney, Mia Hanrahan, Saibh O'Brien, Caoilhionn ni Chonaill.