Match Reports‎ > ‎

Kildysart Forced to Share Spoils in Lisdoon

posted 5 May 2014, 03:49 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 5 May 2014, 06:50 ]
03/05/2014:  Kildysart will feel they left the match after them in Lisdoonvarna this evening ending up with a draw 1-9 a piece to St. Breckans.  Apart from Breckans equalising in the 3rd minute after Kieran Eyres' opening minute free, they were chasing Kildysart for most of the match.  Kieran Eyres was responsible for all Kildysart scores with the Blues leading 1-2 to 2 points at the end of the quarter. The goal came after a long play up the field that involved Michael Eustace and Kieran Leahy. John Murtagh then took over the free taking and placed two balls between the posts. Brian O'Sullivan added a score to leave Kildysart ahead 1-5 to 4 points at the break. 

St Breckans started the scoring in the second half but two back to back points from stalwart Brian O'Sullivan extended the lead for Kildysart. However, 2 consecutive points from the North Clare side left just a goal between them heading into the final quarter. Keith Murphy had a great score, followed by a Christy Clancy free which put Kildysart ahead 1-9 to 7 points in the 53rd minute.  At the end of normal time Kildysart were ahead 1-9 to 8 points but Breckans weren't about to concede defeat. They rattled the net in the first minute of injury time and secured the leveller in the 3rd minute to force a draw. Final score Kildysart 1-9, St Breckans 1-9.  Brian Moloney and Kieran Leahy impressed for Kildysart.  Kildysart need to secure maximum points from their last two outings to place 3rd in the table. 

Kildysart: Liam Griffin, David McMahon, Shane McNelis, Michael Eustace, John Ginnane-captain, Brian Eyres, Damian Hill, Keith O'Connor, Neillie O'Connor, Brian Moloney, Brian O'Sullivan (0-3), Kieran Leahy, Kieran Eyres (1-2, 2f), Keith Murphy (0-1), John Murtagh (0-2, 2f). Subs: Christy Clancy (0-1, 1f) for B. Eyres (38 min), Paul O'Brien for B. O'Sullivan-injured (50 min), Alan Ralph for K. Eyres (53 min).

St. Breckans: Craig Flanagan, Shane Stack, Daniel Carey, Shane Nagle, Sean Howley, Liam Tierney, Conor de Burca, Sean Cormican, Maccon Byrne, Liam O'Flaherty, John Stack, Mark O'Donnell, Aidan Davidson, Conor Cormican, Patrick Nagle