Match Reports‎ > ‎

Kil/Cool Minors County Champs

posted 15 Sep 2012, 09:32 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 15 Sep 2012, 11:21 ]

Kil/Cool Minors are County Champions having accounted for Naomh Eoin/O'Currys 04 09 to 01 11.  Aiden Corry opened the match with a free in the 4th minute but Naomh Eoin/O'Currys levelled in the next minute with a free.  Ben Cleary's pass into Ian Slobody in the 9th minute was the first of the 4 Kil/Cool goals.  Naomh Eoin/O'Curry's trailed by 1 at the end of the 1st quarter with all their scores so far from frees. After an Aiden Corry free at the 17th minute Naomh Eoin/OCurry's scored 1-3 without reply over the next 10 minutes.  Kil/Cool responded with another Aiden Corry free and ended the half with a great goal -a long ball in was tipped in the air by Ian Slobody to Aiden Corry, who buried it in the net. This left the sides level at half time Kil/Cool 2-3 to 1-6.

Kil/Cool scored 1-1 at the start of the 2nd half with a point from Ian Slobody and a goal from Paudie Corry to take the lead which they never relinquished.  The sides swapped points again and then Gary Meaney scored 1-1 in the space of two minutes.  First Gary pointed and then was on hand to send Ian Slobody's shot on goal into the net. Brian Moloney's point and 2 scores from the West Clare side had Kil/Cool in front 4-7 to 1-9 at the end of the 3rd quarter. Both sides went on to scores 2 more points a piece and the final whistle blew. Kil/Cool are County Champs by a score of 4-9 to 1-11.  Best for Kil/Cool:  Paudie Corry, Ian Slobody, Aiden Corry and Eoin O'Connor.

Team: Patrick Coyle, David Hehir, Anthony King, Diarmuid Ginnane, Cian Murphy, Stevie Murphy, Paudie Corry (1-0), Eoin O'Connor Co-Captain, Gary Meaney (1-1), Ben Cleary, Brian Moloney Co-Captain (0-1), Ian Slobody (1-1), Aiden Corry (1-6, 5f).  Subs: Rory McMahon at half time for S. Murphy, Oisin Coyle and Vincent O'Dea. Management: Noel McMahon, Joe Corry, Flan Ginnane, Micheal Brooks

Kil/Cool Minors County Champions 2012
Front row: Noel McMahon, Oisin Coyle, Ben Cleary, Aiden Corry, Eoin O'Connor, Brian Moloney, Ian Slobody, Cian Murphy, Vincent O'Dea.
Back row: Micheal Brooks, Anthony King, Gary Meaney, David Hehir, Patrick Coyle, Stevie Murphy, Diarmuid Ginnane, Paudie Corry, Rory McMahon, Joe Corry, Flan Ginnane.

Co Captains Brian Moloney and Eoin O'Connor with Minor C Plaque