Match Reports‎ > ‎

Brian Leads Kildysart to Banner Cup Victory

posted 22 Sep 2012, 10:13 by Patricia Donnellan   [ updated 29 Sep 2012, 02:43 ]
21/09/012:  Skipper Brian O'Sullivan led by example and inspired his team to victory in Cooraclare in front of a large Kildysart crowd to claim their 5th Banner Cup.  The entire team put in an immense performance and never allowed Kilmurray Ibrikane into the game.  Damien Murtagh started off with a free in the first minute and Ger Kelly followed with a free from a very tight angle.  Kilmurray scored their only 3 points of the half from frees and the sides were level at the end of the 1st quarter.  John Clancy scored a point, again from a difficult angle and Damien Murtagh pointed a free to put the Blues in front where they stayed for the rest of the match.  Kildysart got some breathing space when Keith "The Bomber" Murphy, powered one into the back of the net at the 22nd minute.  Points from Brian O'Sullivan and Ger Kelly rounded out the half with Kildysart ahead 1-6 to 3 points.

Kilmurray opened the second half with a free and Ger Kelly pointed two more in the next 10 minutes. Kilmurray's fate was sealed when in the 43rd minute, Keith Murphy fisted the ball past the keeper for a goal. Kildysart were winning most of the ball in mid field and the backs kept Kilmurray with no point from play until the 43rd minute. The sides swapped scores thanks to a point from Brian O'Sullivan.  Kildysart had to play with 14 men for the last 10 minutes when Michael Eustace got sent off for 2 yellows.  Kilmurray managed 3 more scores and Ger Kelly added 2 to his tally to end the match Kildysart 2-11 Kilmurray Ibrikane 8 points.  Roll on the Garry Cup for 2013. Well done to the team, panel and manager Michael Crehan, selectors Noel O'Grady, Kieran McNamara and Mickey McGrath.  Best for Kildysart: outstanding team performance.

Team: John Murtagh, Kieran Leahy, Keith O'Connor, Kieran Eyres, Brian Eyres, Shane McNelis, Michael Eustace, Brian O'Sullivan (0-2), Niall O'Connor, Damien Hill, Gerard Kelly (0-6, 2f), Damien  Murtagh (0-2, 1f), Keith Murphy (2-0), John Clancy (0-1), Christy Clancy.  Subs: Niall Ginnane for C. Clancy, Alan Ralph for D. Hill. Panel: Liam Griffin, Brendan Frawley, Brian Moloney, Owen Cleary, Terry Murphy, Kieran Doohan, Patrick O'Brien, Tommy Eustace (injured).
Front Row: Owen Cleary, Shane McNelis, Niall Ginnane, Damien Hill, Christy Clancy, Brian O'Sullivan-Captain, Kiernan Doohan, Brian Moloney,Ger Kelly, Michael Eustace, John Murtagh, Brendan Frawley.  Back row:  Terry Murphy, Damien Murtagh, Brian Eyres, Kieran Leahy, Dermot Clancy, John Clancy, Niall O'Connor, Keith Murphy, Keith O'Connor, Alan Ralph, Kieran Eyres, Tomas Eustace.